Posted by: Míša | April 24, 2011

It’s a linguist’s world

Hello!

My name is Míša Hejná and I am a PhD student interested in

– Welsh Englishes

– the history of the English language

– language variation and language change

– phonetics, phonology, morphology

 

Feel free to contact me at michaela.hejna@postgrad.manchester.ac.uk.

 

In September 2012, I started my PhD in Linguistics and English Language at the University of Manchester. My thesis deals with the phonetic plosives and rhythm in Welsh English. It focuses on pre-aspiration in partic

ular. This thesis is supervised by Yuni Kim, Ricardo Bermúdez-Otero, and Maciej Baranowski.

IMAG3614

I did my MA in English Language and Linguistics, Charles University, Prague, Czech Republic (2010-2012, with honours). My thesis was supervised by Jan Volín and its title was Rhythmic Differences between Welsh English and the British Standard. It focused on rhythm of Cardiff English and Aberystwyth English. During the MA, I spent one semester at the University of Sheffield, where I had the pleasure of meeting Joan Beal, who gave me the opportunity to study English dialectology as I had always wished to do.
I did my BA in English and American Studies, Charles University, Prague, Czech Republic (2007-2010). My thesis was supervised by Jan Čermák and its title was Ablaut in Word-formation vs Suffixation in Word-formation in Diachrony, which dealt mainly with Old English and touched upon Middle English. I believe that if it had not been for such a great teacher like Jan Čermák, my life may have been rather different
.

 

Leave a Reply

Categories